Event Registration

Concepts in Crowdfunding & Crowd-Resourcing for Social Justice Work
08/20/2013 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM PT

Location

Event Registration is closed.

PLUS! Brass Tacks for Planning a Successful Campaign

A GIFT Webinar featuring Erin Barnes Tuesday, August 20th 10am PT/11am MT/12pm CT/1pm ET (Training lasts approximately one hour)

ioby co-founder Erin Barnes will begin by walking you through a brief history of crowdfunding, an assessment of the leading types of crowdfunding platforms, and a quick guide to choosing the right crowdfunding platform for you. Then we'll switch gears and discuss the best practices in crowdfunding, integrating crowdfunding into your development strategy, and share some of the characteristics of successful ioby campaigns, pulled directly from the ioby signature crowdfunding training FastCash.


ioby is an online crowd-resourcing platform that supports citizen-led, neighbor-funded initiatives that make urban neighborhoods stronger and more sustainable. The Rockefeller Foundation awarded Erin Barnes and her co-founders at ioby the 2012 Jane Jacobs Medal for New Technology and Innovation.

Erin met her co-founders of ioby while in graduate school at the Yale University School of Forestry and Environmental studies. Before ioby, Erin Barnes was an environmental editor at Men’s Journal magazine, freelance environmental writer, and contributor to Al Gore’s book Our Choice. She conducted field research on water in Nicaragua and the Amazon, and worked as a community organizer at the Save Our Wild Salmon Coalition. She has a B.A. in English and American Studies from the University of Virginia and an M.E.M from Yale University. Erin lives in Brooklyn and serves on the Board of the Manhattan Land Trust, the Steering Committee for EPIP-NYC, and as an advisor to ArtBridge, Charity Sub, Shared Squared, and the Social Innovators Collective.


Cost: $50-$150 per site depending on your group’s budget size:

$50 for groups with budgets less than $250,000

$100 for groups with budgets less than $1 million

$150 for groups with budgets over $1 million

More than one participant per site is encouraged!

If you will have multiple people at a single site, please only include yourself as the "Attendee." Otherwise, you will be charged for each person instead of for the single site.

Need to register multiple sites? Please get in touch with Jennifer Emiko Boyden: jennifer[AT]grassrootsfundraising.org[DOT]org, 510-452-4520 x302.

Powered by NeonCRM