Eisner Award Winners – Youth Categories

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are considered the "Oscars" of comics. Nominees are chosen by a blue-ribbon committee of judges, and the winners are chosen by professionals in the comics industry. Started in 1988, the awards are named for Will Eisner, the legendary creator of "The Spirit" and giant of the graphic novel. The Eisner Award category designations for youth have changed a few times over the years. Here are the winners in all of the various youth categories.

Best Title for Younger Readers/Publication for a Younger Audience

The Batman and Robin Adventures, by Paul Dini, Ty Templeton, & Rick Burchett (DC) 1996

Leave It to Chance, James Robinson and Paul Smith (Homage) 1997

Batman & Robin Adventures, Ty Templeton, Brandon Kruse, Rick Burchett, and others (DC) 1998

Batman: The Gotham Adventures, by Ty Templeton, Rick Burchett, and Terry Beatty (DC) 1999

Simpsons Comics, by various (Bongo) 2000

Scary Godmother: The Boo Flu, by Jill Thompson (Sirius) 2001

Herobear and the Kid, by Mike Kunkel (Astonish) 2002, 2003

Walt Disney's Uncle Scrooge, by various (Gemstone) 2004

Plastic Man, by Kyle Baker and Scott Morse (DC) 2005

Owly: Flying Lessons, by Andy Runton (Top Shelf) 2006

Gumby, by Bob Burden and Rick Geary (Wildcard Ink) 2007

Mouse Guard: Fall 1152 and Mouse Guard: Winter 1152, by David Petersen (Archaia) 2008

Tiny Titans, by Art Baltazar and Franco Aureliani (DC) 2009

The Wonderful Wizard of Oz hardcover, by L. Frank Baum, Eric Shanower, and Skottie Young (Marvel) 2010

Tiny Titans, by Art Baltazar and Franco Aureliani (DC) 2011

Dragon Puncher Island, by James Kochalka (Top Shelf) 2012

Snarked, by Roger Langridge (kaboom!) 2012

Babymouse for President, by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm (Random House) 2013

Adventure Time, by Ryan North, Shelli Paroline, & Braden Lamb (kaboom!) 2013

Best Publication for Teens/Tweens/Young Adults

Laika, by Nick Abadzis (First Second) 2008

Beasts of Burden, by Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse) 2010

Smile, by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic/Graphix) 2011

Anya's Ghost, by Vera Brosgol (First Second) 2012

Coraline, by Neil Gaiman, adapted by P. Craig Russell (HarperCollins Children's Books) 2009

A Wrinkle in Time, by Madeleine L'Engle, adapted by Hope Larson (FSG) 2013

